Here you’ll find examples of my professional work and personal projects.

 

Professional Work

Royalty Gone Awry: Hard Times for Royals in Fiction – A selection of young adult fiction featuring stories of royals and the court completed for the Read Feed website feature at DC Public Library in Washington, D.C.

Feels Like Summer: YA and Children’s Fiction with Summer Vibes for All Ages – A selection of fiction titles for those yearning for the days of summer completed for the Read Feed website feature at DC Public Library in Washington, D.C.

Graphic Novels and Nonfiction to Share with Kids: Connect with Little Literatis through Graphic Works – A selection of graphic novels and graphic nonfiction that will spark conversation between adults and kids completed for the Read Feed website feature at DC Public Library in Washington, D.C.

What to Read after “The Yellow Wallpaper”: Read-Alikes and Contextual Texts – A selection of titles for fans of “The Yellow Wallpaper” by Charlotte Perkins Gilman and texts to give context to the short story completed for the Read Feed website feature at DC Public Library in Washington, D.C. and the National Portrait Gallery’s Art AfterWords: A Book Discussion on the short story.

How to Read Like a Librarian: Peek at Our Staff’s Reading List – A selection of titles DC Public Library staff members are currently reading compiled for the Read Feed website feature at DC Public Library in Washington, D.C.

Hey, I Know Them!: A Handful of Books by Authors in the Area – A selection of titles written by authors living in the DC area completed for the Read Feed website feature at DC Public Library in Washington, D.C.

New Year, New You: Nonfiction for Living Your Best Life – A selection of adult nonfiction featuring strategies and information for self-improvement completed for the Read Feed website feature at DC Public Library in Washington, D.C.

Twice upon a Time…: Young Adult Fantasy Series – A selection of young adult novels featuring fantastical plots and characters completed for the Read Feed website feature at DC Public Library in Washington, D.C.

I’m a Big Sibling!: All about New Babies for Big Siblings – A selection of picture and nonfiction books for children who are expecting a new baby sibling completed for the Read Feed website feature at DC Public Library in Washington, D.C.

Witch, Please: YA Novels about Witches to Enchant You – A selection of young adult novels featuring witches and witchcraft completed for the Read Feed website feature at DC Public Library in Washington, D.C.

Books to Read after Watching To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before – A selection of young adult novels similar to Jenny Han’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before completed for the Read Feed website feature at DC Public Library in Washington, D.C.

Young Women, Real Lives – A selection of memoirs, essay collections, and field research by and about young women completed for the Read Feed website feature at DC Public Library in Washington, D.C.

Saying Goodbye: Death and Grief in Picture Books – A selection of picture books that discuss dying, death, and grief which are useful tools for discussing these topics with children of all ages completed for the Read Feed website feature at DC Public Library in Washington, D.C.

ICYMI: Celebrity Memoirs You May Have Missed – A selection of celebrity memoirs completed for the Read Feed website feature at DC Public Library in Washington, D.C.

#MeToo – A selection of young adult novel that feature stories of sexual abuse and assault completed for the Read Feed website feature at DC Public Library in Washington, D.C.

Introverts, Pervs, and Everything in Between – A selection of adult nonfiction pieces that explore themes of social science including introversion, sexuality, and more completed for the Read Feed website feature at DC Public Library in Washington, D.C.

Riverdale Read-Alikes: Young Adult Novels for Fans of the Hit TV Show – A selection of young adult novels that echo themes, settings, and plots of the CW’s Riverdale completed for the Read Feed website feature at DC Public Library in Washington, D.C.

Show Off: Books to Make You LOL – A book display of young adult novels of humor at the James M. Duncan Branch Library of the Alexandria Public Library in Alexandria, Virginia.

Show Off: Books with Bite – A book display of young adult horror and paranormal romance novels featuring vampires, werewolves, zombies, and other monsters at the James M. Duncan Branch Library of the Alexandria Public Library in Alexandria, Virginia.

Show Off: Crisis Contacts – A door/bulletin board display of local and national resources to address various crises with the intent of providing the maximum amount of possible anonymity at the James M. Duncan Branch Library of the Alexandria Public Library in Alexandria, Virginia.

Show Off: Don’t Worry, Be Happy – A door/bulletin board display of lighthearted reads in anticipation of summer in a fun and festive design at the James M. Duncan Branch Library of the Alexandria Public Library in Alexandria, Virginia.

Show Off: April Showers Bring Superpowers – A door/bulletin board display of superhero-related materials in the library at the James. M. Duncan Branch Library of the Alexandria Public Library in Alexandria, Virginia.

Show Off: If You Loved Thirteen Reasons Why – A book display of books similar to Jay Asher’s Thirteen Reasons Why in honor of the debut of the Netflix series based on the book at the James M. Duncan Branch of the Alexandria Public Library in Alexandria, Virginia.

Show Off: Love at First Line – A door/bulletin board display of the first lines of young adult books hiding the titles at the James M. Duncan Branch Library of the Alexandria Public Library in Alexandria, Virginia.

Show Off: Historical Fiction – A book display of young adult fiction which takes place in the past at the James M. Duncan Branch Library of the Alexandria Public Library in Alexandria, Virginia.

Show Off: Retellings – A book display of young adult fiction which retells a fairy tale, literary classic, or myth at the James M. Duncan Branch Library of the Alexandria Public Library in Alexandria, Virginia.

Show Off: Fall Is All Around – A door/bulletin board display of young adult books with the word fall in the title and a collection of popular authors and their social media handles with a passive programming opportunity for patrons to add their own social media handles at the James M. Duncan Branch Library of the Alexandria Public Library in Alexandria, Virginia.

Show Off: Banned Books Week – A book display of young adult fiction which has been challenged or banned for Banned Books Week 2016 at the James M. Duncan Branch Library of the Alexandria Public Library in Alexandria, Virginia.

Show Off: Audiobooks – A book display of audiobooks for all ages at the Cherrydale Branch Library of the Arlington Public Library in Arlington, Virginia.

 

Featured

“Floating Collections” – Brodart’s Librarian to Librarian considers the concept of floating collections including some of my own thoughts.

The 5,000 Friends of Veronica Veetch by Jean Hanson – My blurb review for this picture book appears thanks to an invitation from the publisher, Bailiwick Press.

 

Book Riot Articles

The Perils of a Reading Streak

3 Books about College Admission Scandals

The Only Appropriate Response to the ebook vs Print Book Debate

Graphic Novels Made Me Try New Things

Houston Public Library Discontinues Drag Queen Story Time

The Appeal of Unread Books or, Why I Don’t Read the Books I Buy

Book Journaling: What It Is and How to Get Started

Friends of the Library: Libraries’ Secret Weapon

Remembering and Revisiting the Dear America and Royal Diaries Series

How to Read Like a Librarian: 7 Books to Get You Started

How to Find a Book Club, for Online and Local Clubs

Armed Man Trespasses at Houston Public Library Drag Queen Storytime

28 of the Best Jobs for Book Lovers of All Shapes and Sizes

Marie Kondo Wants to Throw Away Books and I Am Outraged

A Very Scientific* Look at Which Library Books Disappear the Most

8 Things to Do with Unwanted Books

If You Want Kids to Read Nonfiction, Try Graphic Nonfiction

Why Are Libraries Important and More: An Autocomplete Survey

Author Authority and When You Learn to Read Critically

What’s Your Earliest Reading Memory? Tayari Jones Wants to Know

The Rainbow Fish by Marcus Pfister Is Actually Pretty Messed Up

Why I Became a Librarian: 32 Reasons from Twitter

Robert Frost Farm and the Importance of Literary Sites

Only ’90s Kids Will Remember These Books from the ’90s

Reading While Chronically Ill or, The Books Will Wait

Quiz: What Romantic YA Book Should You Read Next?

Do You Know These First Lines? A Guess the Book Quiz

Quiz: Which Jane Austen Heroine Are You?

35 War and Peace Quotes (So You Can Say You’ve Read It)

How I Finally Got Over My TBR

How to Read a Book: A Step-by-Step Guide

How to Find a Book You’ve Forgotten: Tips from a Librarian

The Best and Most Magical Free Harry Potter Coloring Pages

6 Back-to-School Picture Books for Nervous Kids

How to Keep Library Ebooks Longer (and the Drawbacks)

How to Get Books before They’re Published

“Though She Be But Little, She Is Fierce” Pieces for Every Occasion

11 Lovely Jane Austen Pins for the Most Ardent Janeites

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before: Which Song-Covey Sister Are You?

Trade in Your Old Kindle for a New Discounted Kindle and Gift Card

The Best Book Database You’ve Never Heard Of

Help Me, Readers: How Do You DNF?

5 Fantastic Keto Books for People Who Love to Eat Good Food

Zodiac and Books: What the Signs Do in Bookstores (and What They’re Buying)

Lin-Manuel Miranda Announces Gmorning, Gnight! Book

ATUS Survey: Americans Are Reading Less — Is Television to Blame?

50 Must-Read Adventure Novels

11 Best Bookish Humans of New York Picture-Stories

16 Sylvia Plath Pins for All the Mad Girls

Can You Guess These Classic Books from Their Emoji Titles?

34 Sure and Definite Signs You’re a Bookworm

Bookish Lanyards for Librarians, Teachers, and Other Book Lovers

To Pizza Hut’s Book It! Program: A Fond Love Letter

16 Perfect Anne of Avonlea Quotes to Warm and Inspire

24 Gorgeous Photos to Give You Library Ladder Envy

13 Movies That Are Better Than Their Books (Really)

Speak Author Laurie Halse Anderson Announces Memoir of Sexual Assault Survival

How to Set Up Book News Alerts

6 Reasons Why Jimmy Kimmel’s Book Video Is the Actual Worst

5 Hijabi Bookstagrammers You Should Be Following

31 Bookish Journal Prompts to Inspire You for a Month

There’s a Button for That: How to Make Bookish Friends

Do Librarians Read All Day? No, But They Should

Paperback Writer: Musicians Who Should Write a Book

Why I Never Recommend My Favorite Book

The Best Book Advice I’ve Ever Received from a Librarian

19th Century Women Writers in Young Adult Biographical Fiction

Old Brag of My Heart: Experiencing One Life: Sylvia Plath

We Need (More) Diverse ALA Read Posters

How Fidget Spinners Can Help You Read More (Really)

22 Great Quotes about Reading and the Reading Life

Grab These Great 15 Bookish Gifts for $10 and Under

More Accidentally Hilarious Sticker Placement: Library Edition

How to Support Your Library with These 10 Easy Actions

Not Your Grandma’s Library: How Modern Storytime Develops Early Literacy

Accidentally Hilarious Sticker Placement on Books

17 Wonderful Wordless Picture Books Everyone Can Love

Help! I Don’t Know How to Rate Books!

8 Halloween Picture Books for You and Your Little Goblin

I’m Ready for Bookish Tailgating to Be a Thing

15 Challenged Books Retitled as Clickbait

Fight White Supremacy with Books: Support St. Louis Indie Bookstores

The Absolute Worst Book Recommendation I Ever Made

Hide a Book Day: Goodreads Celebrates 10th Anniversary

6 Best Bookish World Records

In Defense of Our Non-Reading Friends

8 Ways to Become a Library Catalog Power User

 

Reviews for Library Journal and School Library Journal*

Queens of Fennbirn by Kendare Blake (SLJ)

The Other Side of Lost by Jessi Kirby (SLJ)

Trans Like Me: Conversations for All of Us by C. N. Lester (LJ)

Soon: An Overdue History of Procrastination, from Leonardo and Darwin to You and Me by Andrew Santella (LJ)

The Diminished by Kaitlyn Sage Patterson (SLJ) (review text here)

Black Chuck by Regan McDonell (SLJ)

Leftover in China by Roseann Lake (LJ) (review text here)

To My Trans Sisters by Charlie Craggs (ed) (LJ)

Fragile Chaos by Amber R. Duell (SLJ)

One Dark Throne by Kendare Blake (SLJ)

Awkward: The Science of Why We’re Socially Awkward and Why That’s Awesome by Ty Tashiro (LJ)

Flicker and Mist by Mary G. Thompson (SLJ)

Living a Feminist Life by Sara Ahmed (LJ)

Seeking Mansfield by Kate Watson (SLJ)

Tinker, Dabble, Doodle, Try by Srini Pillay (LJ)

Fragile Chaos by Amber R. Duell (SLJ)

One Dark Throne by Kendare Blake (SLJ)

The Great Pursuit by Wendy Higgins (SLJ)

*Review content may be incomplete in links; please see the appropriate journal (indicated in parentheses) to view the full review.

 

Personal Projects

Fiction Re: Sibling Loss – A pathfinder of fiction for young adults and adults regarding sibling loss.

Fiction Re: Animal Narrators for Us Critter-Lovers – A pathfinder of fiction for adults narrated by animals.

Fiction Re: Gun Violence in Schools – A pathfinder of fiction for young adults and adults regarding gun (and other) violence in schools.

The Write Stuff: A Snail Mail Pathfinder – A pathfinder of nonfiction resources in various formats and of various types for those who enjoy writing letters.

Projects: DNC Voting Members List – A description of how I built a list of (some) DNC voting-eligible members.

Thoughts On: Makerspaces – A discussion on what makerspaces are and why it’s important that we define them.